Mercedes-Benz Classic

Automotive history up close: How did the modern car develop from first »horseless carts«? How did Mercedes get its name? The multimedia book-installation »The Beginnings of Motorsport« was developed by LIQUID on behalf of the Mercedes-Benz Museum.

The bilingual tome in XXL format when opened measures no less than 1.6 x 1.3 meters. Spectacular pop-ups, like one of the »Mercedes 35 PS« and various surface refinements provide for elements of surprise, as well as films that are exactly projected onto the printed pages when turning the pages.

Thus the viewer gets the impression of a magic, »living« book. A further highlight for car enthusiasts is the replica of a photo album of the world‘s first car race. As a book inside a book this album can be paged through seperately.

The Living Book® already attracted permanent attention during an advance presentation at Mercedes-Benz Classic‘s trade fair booth.

The visitors were enthusiastic about this interactive book: »We‘ve never seen the early automotive history put in scene this impressively and beautifully!«
To the project >>

GDA16_SpecialMention

Mercedes-Benz Classic

Automobil-Geschichte hautnah: Wie entwickelte sich aus den ersten »pferdelosen Kutschen« das moderne Automobil? Wie kam Mercedes zu seinem Namen? Die multimediale Buch-Installation »Die Anfänge des Motorsports« wurde von LIQUID im Auftrag des Mercedes-Benz Museums entwickelt.

Der zweisprachige Foliant im XXL-Format misst im geöffneten Zustand stolze 1,6 x 1,3 Meter. Für Überraschungseffekte sorgen nicht nur spektakuläre Pop-ups wie das des »Mercedes 35 PS« sowie diverse Oberflächenveredelungen, sondern insbesondere die Filme, die ganz einfach beim Umblättern passgenau auf die bedruckten Seiten projiziert werden.

So entsteht beim Betrachter der Eindruck eines magischen, »lebenden« Buches. Ein zusätzliches Highlight für Auto-Fans ist die Replik eines Fotoalbums vom ersten Autorennen der Welt. Sie lässt sich als »Buch im Buch« gesondert blättern.

Das Lebende Buch® war bereits bei einer Vorabpräsentation auf dem Messestand von Mercedes-Benz Classic ein permanenter Anziehungspunkt.

Die Besucher zeigten sich von diesem interaktiven Buch ausnahmslos begeistert: »So beeindruckend und wunderschön in Szene gesetzt haben wir die frühe Automobilgeschichte noch nie erlebt!«
Mehr zu dem Projekt >>

GDA16_SpecialMention